PES Logo

PES inducts 42 new members of Young Economists Honor Society

PES inducts 42 new members of Young Economists Honor Society
Date Published

The Philippine Economic Society (PES) formally inducted Batch 2022 of the Young Economists Honor Society (YEHS) program during the virtual closing session of the 60th PES Annual Meeting and Conference on 11 November 2022.

The YEHS is an annual recognition given since 2017 by the PES to the top graduates of economics and economics-related programs offered by higher education institutions in the Philippines. Since its inception, the YEHS has recognized more than 100 young economists.

This year's batch of YEHS honorees, which consist of 42 individuals, come from ten HEIs, namely: Ateneo de Davao University, Ateneo de Manila University, De La Salle University, University of Asia and the Pacific, University of San Carlos, University of the Philippines Diliman, University of the Philippines Los Baños, University of the Philippines Visayas, Visayas State University, and Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan.

The oath-taking was led by PES Secretary, Mr. Ruben Carlo Asuncion.

The YEHS award also hopes to forge stronger ties across experienced and promising young economists, fostering the continued scholastic and professional achievements of economists in the country.

Honorees receive one-year complimentary membership to the PES, making them entitled to the same benefits and privileges that PES members receive.

The PES Board of Trustees is laying out plans to continue expanding the reach of the YEHS program to other universities, including those outside the National Capital Region.

Latest News and Events